I’ve Got a Feeling

Has that ever happened to you? You are listening to a song on the radio, CD, iPod, or other electronic device, when a song starts playing and you just get a feeling. A feeling that’s hard to describe, but you know it’s good. A feeling so good that you start smiling……and you absolutely cannot stop. Have you ever gotten that kind of feeling? Have you ever seen another person when they get that feeling?

I know that feeling, and it has happened to me numerous times recently. Ironically, they’ve all been southern gospel songs that have given me that feeling. I don’t know what it is about this genre that just makes people so……happy. Nothing against other Christian genres or even other secular genres, but none of them ever impacted me in the way that southern gospel music has impacted me. I can listen to almost any genre out there stylistically. For a long period of time, I was even listening to quite a bit of secular hip hop and rap music. But secular or Christian, no other genre has affected my soul the way southern gospel music has.

Once I begin to listen to this wonderful style of music, it’s like all of my problems go away. I’m no longer worrying about how I’m going to pay my school loans, and I stop worrying about the surgery I’ll be having next month. Once I turn on the music, all of that goes away, and I can’t help but…smile!

I’ve also begun to notice an expanding of my love for SG music…and it goes back to my love for it and how it makes me feel. For the longest time, there were only a few groups I would listen to, and I would only listen to certain songs. If I was watching a Homecoming DVD, I would usually skip many of the songs because I didn’t care for them.

Now, I’ve founding myself developing a greater appreciation for all things Southern Gospel. It’s not only about a few select groups and soloists that make Southern Gospel music great. It’s the history, it’s the legacy, and it’s the pure beauty of the songs that make it great. I’ve also seen myself expanding my artist selections. I listen to so many more SG artists than I did at this time last year.

Before I end this blog post, I want to extend a special thanks to a few people. It was these select few who helped kindle the fire in me for this music, and helped my passion to stay burning. I want to thank Daniel Mount, Diana Brantley, and all others at SouthernGospelForums.com for helping me bring my passion for this music alive. It was these people and this message board that showed me there’s more southern gospel artists than just those who appear on the Homecoming DVDs, and there’s more to southern gospel than just the artists singing up on stage trying to earn a living for their families (because I’m pretty sure a lot of these artists aren’t in the music ministry for the money). It’s about the relationships built, whether artist-to-fan, fan-to-fan, or even artist-to-artist. THAT is what makes southern gospel music so special to me.

And that is a little bit behind why I get that feeling…how about you?

3 thoughts on “I’ve Got a Feeling

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words! I never know when something I say will encourage a newer fan to check out more artists. So what I do – and encourage others to do – is speak positively all the time. 🙂

  2. Well thank goodness you got off of secular hip-hop! Yikes!

    I know exactly what you mean. I’ve gotten that feeling a lot of times with SG. Sometimes I get it with really good CCM too, but SG just hits the spot like nothing else can. I’ve watched my mom get that feeling a lot of times too, and it’s a lot of fun! 😀

  3. Josh,
    What a beautiful article. Yes, Southern Gospel seems to be right at the heart of New Testament Christianisty, and the Spirit (that “feeling”) moves within us. Thanks for the article. I hope to meet you someday. I’m going to NQC in a couple days (Sept 2012) and maybe I can give a first hand report for you.

Leave a Reply

