YouTube Gem #1: Early 90s Gaither Vocal Band

I’m going to try a new series here. With all the time I spend on YouTube, I quite often find some gems that other people might not normally see. This is the first posting in my YouTube Gems Series.

In the early 1990s (long before I knew what Southern Gospel music was), the GVB lineup was Bill Gaither (Bass), Mark Lowry (Baritone), Michael English (Lead), Terry Franklin (Tenor). In 1993, they were working on their new CD “Southern Classics.” They decided to take a break from recording to pay a visit to the Stamps Baxter School of Music. There, they did a rehearsal concert for those in attendance.

Somehow, some way, Mark Lowry got a hold of some raw video footage from that night. The one I chose as my first Gem is a version of probably one of the best, if not the best, Michael English songs. You can find this song, as well as 14 other clips, on Mark Lowry’s YouTube page.

Here is Michael English and the rest of the 1993 Gaither Vocal Band singing “I Bowed On My Knees:

Leave a Reply

