YouTube Gem #8: Wes & Carlos

In a post I’m sure NewSoGoFan will enjoy, I stumbled upon a video this evening that I just had to share. Its from a Wes Hampton solo concert last month in Florida. Wes invited Carlos up to the stage to sing a duet of It Is Well. Here is the result:

They also sang I Believe In A Hill Called Mount Calvary:

The second song was not as powerful as the first, but they were both strong. It was obvious that Carlos did not have the range required for parts of his solos on I Believe, so he had to resort to a lot of vocal stylings. Some may like it, some may not. Personally, I don’t fall on either side.

The thing that surprised me most was Carlos’ ability to sing harmony. Not sure why, but it really impressed me. I expected Wes to carry the harmony, so it was a pleasant surprise.

3 thoughts on “YouTube Gem #8: Wes & Carlos

  1. Hey Josh, check out these two videos as well from when Carlos was a little younger. He’s actually much better than these videos let on.

    See this Steve Green cover of “God and God Alone” when he was only 19:

    And this cover of “I Know That My Redeemer Liveth” at his graduation last year:

Leave a Reply

