Happy Easter!

I want to start out this post by wishing everyone a HAPPY EASTER!

For this blog post, I chose to use a song that has really meant a lot to me over the past few weeks. I know “In Christ Alone” is one with varying opinions across the SG blogosphere. But hymn or not, it is a very powerful song. Before I show you a video of the song, here is a little clip from the songwriter Keith Getty:

Now here’s a performance of the song by the Gettys. Sometimes, a stripped-down version of the song performed by the songwriter is the best way to enjoy a song.

There in the ground His body lay,
Light of the world by darkness slain;
Then bursting forth in glorious day,
Up from the grave He rose again!
And as He stands in victory,
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me;
For I am His and He is mine—
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

Because of what we celebrate on this Easter Sunday, we can be confident that sin’s curse has lost its grip on each of us. I don’t know about you, but that hits me every time I hear the song.

Leave a Reply

