Minnesota Review Monday: The Chancellors Quartet

First of all, I want to make clear that I am aware today is in fact Tuesday, not Monday as the title of this post says. However, I’ll just use as my excuse that my blog took part in the national Labor Day holiday, pushing my Monday post to Tuesday.

Second of all, I wanted to express my excitement in recently discovering that there is a two-day Twin Cities Quartet Convention every year in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul metro area. Even as the self-proclaimed “Minnesota SG Fan,” you’d think this would be something I would already know about. However, I know about it now, and am hoping to attend the 2013 TCQC. Just a little something to look forward to next spring…

Now that we have that covered, we can go into the real purpose of this post, which is to take a look at the Chancellors Quartet. Group members are Jeff Lindstrom, Ian Lindsay, Chris Fish, and Mike McCowen. The videos I’m about to show you all took place at the 2012 TCQC in April.

The first song is an old song called “Inward Man,” which the Cathedrals recorded on their Master Builder project.

The song features bass singer Mike McCowen, and gives a glimpse of the group’s on-stage humor. I never heard this song before, and it’s really a great choice for the group to feature McCowen’s smooth singing bass voice.

McCowen is also featured in another George Younce cover, this time of “This Ole House”

As usual, they get some more funny moments in the song, and even go out and mingle with the fans in the audience, allowing for some Kodak moments.

Heres another video that shows the group’s humor, both before and during the song “Turn Your Radio On.”

Not only do they pull off their humorous bits with ease, but the singing’s pretty good too!

Speaking of good singing, this last video is probably my favorite of the four songs I’ve featured in this post. The Chancellors put aside their humor as lead singer Ian Lindsay delivers a very solid rendition of Hide Thou Me.

While Lindsay plays it safe for the most part when it comes to the notes he sings, it really allows him to sing with more power than if he attempted some of the notes usually heard in this song.

That’s one thing I appreciate about what I’ve heard from The Chancellors. They don’t hit the highest or the lowest notes, because they know that it’s not where their strengths lie. They stick to where they can deliver notes with power, and that’s what separates many of the solid regional groups from the mediocre ones. The Chancellors Quartet are a solid regional quartet in my books, and I look forward to seeing them in person one day! (hopefully at 2013 TCQC)

2 thoughts on “Minnesota Review Monday: The Chancellors Quartet

Leave a Reply

